img_4277

Phở, pho, fo – watever you want to name it. I was born and raised eating Pho, and have been making so many of them in different countries using very basic ingredients that I can find.

I am being driven crazy by a very weird event happened recently 🙂 And to be honest, I just have to walk, cook and find object to do so I can get my mind off it. Ah, I am back in New Zealand again, and maybe for a bit longer this time then the last. It is always good to be home again, always.

Ah hey, never say much about my personal life here, but I just feel like so today, after realising me and him are just so back to our reality and may not even come across each other again. I have always been this way – like to laugh, to be loud, talk to people, out and about, enjoy myself and not really give a thought about it much after. But not just that of me this time. And I so do not like it.

Back to the main topic here – the authentic and easy way to make Pho whichever country you are in:

INGREDIENTS:

  • 4-5 cut of ox tail
  • 1 large ginger. Cut into half. One half is slightly roasted
  • 1 large shallot. Peeled and slightly roasted
  • 2-3 star anise
  • 1 cinnamon stick – very optional, I personally do not like it
  • Salt, pepper

COOKING STEPS:

  • Clean the ox tail by rubbing salt and half of the ginger in, then rinse under cold water
  • In a large cooking pot, put the clean ox tail with roasted ginger + shallot + star anise + cinnamon stick (this stick can change the fragrant of the dish, so please use it with caution haha. I still do not like it) and a bit of salt.
  • When boiled, reduce the heat and simmer for another 30mins
  • Close the lid and leave it to rest for like 1-2hrs
  • Bring to boiled again and start season with more salt and a bit of sugar. Do NOT use fish sauce 🙂

Set and ready to serve with rice noodle, extra beef and poached eggs (place the egg in a small cup, pour down the hot broth and microwave for 1min)

Bon appétit

Erin M. ❤

“…I just wanna keep calling your name until you come back home…”

